Saturday, August 22, 2009

Call for nominations for the Liberal International Prize for Freedom 2010

Each year, Liberal International presents the Prize for Freedom to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the promotion of freedom and human rights.

Previous laureates include the late Benazir Bhutto, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, Vaclav Havel, Mary Robinson, Aliaksandr Milinkevich and Lord Avebury (Eric Lubbock).

The next Prize for Freedom will be awarded in the year 2010, under the following criteria for the nominees:

1. Individuals who fight for liberal values, promoting freedom of conscience, human rights, democracy and peace
2. Individuals who are key contributors to significant changes in a country or region
3. Individuals to whom this award might offer protection from extreme forms of political persecution
4. LI member party leaders or groups may not be considered except for extraordinary circumstances as the Prize aims to stand behind those who fight for democracies without political protection.

Details at the Liberal International web site.

No comments: